Skip to content ↓
St Joseph's Catholic Primary School

St Joseph's Catholic Primary School

Rosebank, West Street, Epsom, Surrey, KT18 7RT
Tel. 01372 727850

Governors of St Joseph's

There are twelve Governors of the School, seven Foundation Governors and five Representative Governors. They work continually to ensure that the school maintains its very high standards. Named Governors take a lead on monitoring progress in all areas of school, rigorously verifying that our children receive a first class education. 

The Full Governing Body meets routinely five times a year. There is a formal agenda set in advance and a wide range of issues concerning the school are discussed.  At each meeting, the Full Governing Body will hear reports from Lead Governors for Finance, for Health and Safety and for Human Resources. Minutes of the Full Governing Body Meeting are available. 

Who are our Governors?

The Governors at our school work as a dedicated team and have a very specific role to play in ensuring that standards are raised and that our children are happy and confident learners.  To do this, they work closely with the Headteacher and other staff, as well as the Parish, the local authority and parents.  

In common with Governors elsewhere, our Governors are volunteers and their work is unpaid.  The Chair of Governors is Mr Chris Donovan and the Vice Chair is Mrs Mo Johnson.  Our Safeguarding Governor is Mr Chris Donovan.

How do the Governors work  together?

As most areas of school work are brought to the attention of the Full Governing Body, most sub-committees were disbanded in early 2020. The new way of working is proving most effective. The Admissions Committee meets when work requires and is chaired by Mr Chris Donovan.  A Finance Committee meets regularly and is chaired by Mr Paul Cullen.

Governors Pecuniary Interests and other details

You will find details of the Governors' relevant pecuniary interests in the document below. The Governors have no financial allowances.  As required to publish, no member of staff earns in excess of £100,000 per year.

The DfE encourages schools to publish diversity data for their governors. St Joseph's is committed to being open and transparent in all that it does. To this end, should the need arise, individual governors would be approached to ask if they allow their personal data to be shared on a case-by-case basis.

All Governors serve for a term of four years. Some have continued into a second term.

  Role Date of appointment End of Term Attendance at FGB and meetings over the last year 
Foundation Governors appointed by the Bishop of Arundel and Brighton     Summer 2023

Autumn 2023

Spring 2023
Mr Paul Cullen Lead for Finance 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 Yes Yes No
Vacancy Foundation          
Mr Nathan Walters Foundation 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 No No Yes
Mr Christopher Donovan Chair of FGB 12/01/2023 11/01/2027 n/a Yes Yes
Mrs Maureen Johnson Vice Chair of FGB 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 Yes Yes Yes
Father Stephen O'Brien Priest at St. Joseph's 01/09/2023 31/08/2027 --- Yes Yes
Mrs Jane Stewart Lead for Health and Safety 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 Yes Yes Yes

Representative Governors representing the County and Local Councils, the parents and staff





Mrs Theresa Kenefick Headteacher 2001 31/08/2029 Yes Yes Yes
Mrs Karen Hawkey Parent Governor 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 No Yes Yes
Mr Trevor Foale Parent Governor 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 No Yes Yes
Mrs Andrea Cooke Staff Governor 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 Yes Yes Yes
Mrs Jane Goss Local Authority and Lead for Human Resources 01/09/2021 31/08/2025 Yes Yes Yes

Governors 100 Club

The 100 club is a monthly draw which takes place in school, aiming to raise extra funds for resources.
Participants pay £5 per month and are allocated a number. Each month there are three prizes and the more members we have the more money you could win. You may have more than one number.
The school could raise £3600 each year from the club. 40% of the proceeds are given out in prizes and 60% are retained by the school. This money will be spent on your children so even if you don’t win, your children still benefit!

Application Forms are given below and should be returned to the school office.